Faces

I can still hear James shouting from across the street. “Lurong ka!”
Yes, James, I admit it. I am crazy.
I was lagging behind my friends as we were walking towards Panda Ice Cream in Dumaguete City. As if walking slowly wasn’t enough, I crossed the street and chased down this guy with a mean looking haircut walking in the opposite direction. I can understand my friend’s concern; I could get into trouble. Either that, or I am simply just keeping him from his much anticipated ice cream.

I started doing street photography this year as a promise to myself to do at least 52 photo walks in 2011. I have already procrastinated enough, and I should not delay any longer as my resolve might fizzle out before I even start. Thankfully I came across the website of Eric Kim http://www.erickimphotography/blog/, a street photographer based in the US and read his blogs and tips about street photography. It was a big help and provided the needed inspiration to push through with the plan. Thanks a lot, Eric.

There are many perceived obstacles when thinking about street photography. Will I come home with good photos? Or will I come home empty? Will people allow me to take their photos? Do I hide my camera? Do I walk fast? Shall I make eye contact? These are just a few of the many thoughts running through my mind, but once I was out on the streets, all these thoughts simply vanished. I realized that the biggest obstacle to street photography was the front door, and the most important thing to remember is to respect the people framed in your shot.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 9,732 other followers

